Question about multiple players goin “all in”, then losing the hand, but not being knocked out of the game or even their chip balance dropping by that much. I get it when 1 or 2 players have matching winning hands and they both get a portin of the pot… but how is when there is clearly only one winner and 3 players were all in why doest the one that had highest chip balance get some of there chips back? And the hand winner doesnt get the full pot?
Ithought ifyouwent “all in” and lost the hand youlost all your chips and were out of the tournament, or had to buy back in. can someone explain, or has anyone ekse been witness to this happening?
When several players go “all in” in a hand, the game doesn’t just give the pot to the winner of the hand. Instead, the chips are handled in a way that accounts for each player’s contribution.
We hope we were able to answer your question. If you have any other inquiries or need further assistance, please don’t hesitate to let us know. We’re here to help!
Im just confused and trying to clarify…
Is the question whether if a 1k stack shoves against two 10k stacks that call, does the short stack win all 21k?
Of coarse not. If short stack wins he get 3k and next high hand gets the rest. The pot spots are clearly marked on the table when it happens. Main pot is what all players play for and side pots are what the bigger stacks are playing for. Can be several side pots if there are several players all in with varying stacks.
Hope that helps and if that was the question then you should prob read up on basic mtt and poker rules as this is nothing new at all.
The short stack doesn’t win the entire pot. If they win, they get their share (3k), and the rest goes to the bigger stacks. The main pot is for all players, and side pots are for those with larger stacks. Multiple side pots can happen depending on stack sizes. We recommend checking out our Poker Strategy page to learn more!
so there’s a player’s stack size. say he has 100bb. and than there’s the “effective” stack size. that’s the player with the smallest stack who’s involved in a pot. so if player A has a 50bb stack and player B has a 100bb stack, the effective stack is 50bb. so neither player A or B can win or lose more than 50bb.
and to piggyback off of this concept, when you see someone go all in, and multiple people call (but they don’t re-jam) and those calling stacks are larger, then even if they lose, they’ll still have chips left. You go to the store and buy a soda, clerk says it’s $2.79, and you hand him a $5, you still get your change. If you have more chips than someone and call their all in, and you lose, you still get your change back (the amount of chips you had more than your opponent).
If you have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to reach out. We’re always here to help!
Thank you for answering my question.
@Cashforex please excuse my ignorance, im still learning. Ive got the basics figured out, but this something that i was confused about . So thank you.
Can anyone tell me how to get a practice game of omaha or omaha hi/lo goin or where i can find practice games? I have found nothing about this type of poker anywhere in the poker pages…nothing helpful at least. And id rather not throw money down at a game i have never played.